You will need to be listed on the Nursing Aide Registry in Utah before you can be employed as a certified nursing assistant in the state. If you have no prior experience and education, you will need to attend a training program for prospective certified nursing assistants. There are a wide variety of these programs in the state.
CNA Training Hours and Requirements
You will find that nursing assistant training programs in the state of Utah cover at least 75 hours. If you want to be eligible to take the certification exam and be listed on the Nursing Aide Registry, you will need to attend a course that has been approved by the state. These courses will include classroom training as well as practical training in a clinical setting.
Courses will be designed to teach you some basic nursing fundamentals. You will work to improve your communication skills and to work well under stress. The nursing assistant training course will teach you all of the most common nursing assistant duties that you will need to perform in your career as a CNA.
Transferring CNA Certification To Utah
You might be eligible to transfer your certification from another state to Utah. You will need to complete an application to transfer your certification. The nursing assistant registry will determine if you are then eligible to be listed on the registry for Utah. You will need to show that you complete a fully accredited training program in the former state and that you worked successfully as a certified nursing assistant.
There are some other ways in which you might be able to waive the training and certification testing and become listed on Utah’s nursing assistant registry. This is often possible if you completed a nursing degree or are a nursing student who already completed your nursing fundamentals courses. You can also ask to have the requirements for certification waived if you served as a Nursing Aide in the military and received the training two years ago or less.
Nursing Assistant Certification Renewal
As with any state, you will need to renew your certification every twenty-four months. Make certain that you work as a nursing assistant during that time period. Federal regulations require that you work at least 8 hours over the two year period. You will need to complete any continuing education credits that are required by Utah. If you have allowed your license to expire, you can contact the Nursing Aide Registry for information on how to become active on the registry again.
Q: Since 2008, I have maintained an active certification in the state of Florida. I am planning to move to Utah in March of this year. Is there some way to transfer my CNA certification to the state of Utah?
A: You can apply to have your certification from your current state transferred to Utah. You can contact the Nursing Assistant Registry in Utah. They can provide you with the application you need to apply to transfer this certification. The application process will include verification that you successfully completed a state approved CNA course in your former state. Your application will be reviewed to determine if you meet the requirements for certification in Utah?
Q: What other factors will be taken into consideration when my application is reviewed?
A. The state of Utah will conduct an employment history check and will make sure you certification is still active and in good standing in your former state. They will also conduct a criminal background check on you.
The Utah Nursing Assistant Registry can be contacted at :
550 East 300 South
Kaysville, UT 84037