You can become a certified nursing assistant in Colorado by completing a certified nursing assistant training program. Then, you will need to pass the certification exam. Nursing assistants can find work in nursing care settings, some hospitals and rehabilitation centers and working for home-health agencies.
Training Hours and Requirements in Colorado
Federal law requites a minimum of 75 training hours for individuals who are preparing to become certified nursing assistants. The state of Colorado states that prospective certified nursing assistants must have at least 80 hours of training. Training programs are taught by registered nursing assistants with a couple years of experience (at a minimum) working in the nursing field.
Transfer of CNA Certification to Colorado
When you hold a nursing assistant certification in another state, you can apply to have the certification transferred to Colorado. You will need to contact the Nursing Aide Registry in Colorado to receive the application to transfer your certification. The form will have sections that need to be completed by you as well as sections that need to be completed by the Nursing Aide Registry in your former state.
You will need to have a valid and active certification to apply for transfer to Colorado. It is necessary to have attending a state-approved training course in the state of certification and to have passed the state competency exam for certified nursing assistants. You must also be listed in good standing with the Nursing Aide Registry in your former state. No felony convictions can be on your record. If you meet all criteria for nursing assistant certification in Colorado, your certification can be transferred.
Exact Steps to Transfer Your License To Colorado
– A Copy of your certificate in the state you are transferring from.
– $10 endorsement fee (fees are subject to change every July)
1) Complete the Application for Original License by Endorsement form: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/DORA-Reg/CBON/DORA/1251632077473
2) Compete Part 1 of the Verification of Nurse Aide Certification form and mail it to your current licensing board (in the state you are transferring from).
Make sure to follow the Applicant Checklist and return completed application and all supporting documentation to the Office of Licensing.
Division of Registrations
Office of Licensing—Nursing
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
CNA Certification Renewal in Colorado
Your nursing assistant certification will have an expiration date. This is the date by which you need to renew your certification. You should receive paperwork about 2 or 3 months before this date if it is a year for renewal. The form will need to be completed in its entirety and sent back to the address included in the instructions. Your license can be renewed online at: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/DORA-Reg/CBON/DORA/1251632077473. Click on the renewal tab.
It will be necessary to have worked for pay for a minimum number of specified hours in order to be able to renew your certification. You cannot have had any complaints against you for harming patients if you want to renew your certification. Felony convictions are not allowed either.
Contact the nursing aide registry for instructions on how to renew your license if you did not submit your renewal papers and documents in time. You should also contact the registry if your license lapsed as a result of not working as a nursing assistant for the minimum required hours.
How To Renew an Expired license in Colorado?
If your license has expired within the last two years: You will need to complete the Reinstatement Application-Certified Nurse Aide form at: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/DORA-Reg/CBON/DORA/1251632077473. Make sure to follow the applicant checklist and return the completed application and all supporting documentation to the Office of Licensing.
If your license has expired more than two years ago: You will need to take the examination through Pearson Vue in Colorado and then apply for a new CNA license after you pass the exam.
Note: You will also need to do the exam if you have not worked as a CNA in the last two years even though your license may have expired less than two years ago.
Alexzandra asked:”I am 17 years old and I want to know how to enroll in CNA classes. I don’t want to take the two semester classes in my high school. I’m willing to spend some money on classes else where because I don’t need to wait 9 months to become a CNA. I would like some recommendations on the best places to take the classes.” CNA Classes in Colorado
Answer: According to the licensing requirements on the Colorado Board of Nursing website, there is no restriction on the age at which a person can get a CNA license. You could get trained at any of the accredited training centers regardless of your age. You can get a list of places where you can get Free Nursing Assistant Training in Colorado .