If you have decided to train to become a certified nursing assistant in Alaska, you should know some basic details about becoming a CNA and how to retain your certification. Before you can work as a certified nursing assistant, you will need to meet all training and examination requirements set forth by the state.
Training Hours Requirements in Alaska
The state of Alaska requires prospective CNAs to receive at least 140 hours of training. Some courses offer many more hours of training for nursing assistant students. Training hours must be completed through a training program that has been approved by the state. These training programs will include both classroom and clinical instructions. Courses are designed to provide you with the knowledge and skills you need to work as a nursing assistant.
Transferring CNA Certification from Another State to Alaska
You might be able to transfer a nursing assistant certification to the state of Alaska from one of the other states. You will need to show that you completed all requirements to gain certification as a nursing assistant in your formal state. This will include providing verification of completion of a CNA training program. The Sate of Alaska will also verify that you passed the nursing assistant certification exam in your prior state. . The training program must include a minimum of 140 hours of training, which includes a minimum of 60 hours of classroom instruction and 80 hours of clinical training.
If you are applying to transfer your CNA certification from another state to the state of Alaska, you will need to show that you have not had any type of violation in your career against you. For example, you can have no history of abusing or neglecting patients. Your records will be verified with the Nursing Aide Registry from your home state.
The procedure for CNA license by Endorsement in Alaska is as follows:
- Fill out the form available at http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/pub/nua4070.pdf
- Attach a money order for $279. If you’re not paying the fees yourself you can get your prospective employer to give you a voucher or Purchase order
- Attach a filled fingerprint card. You can either request one at http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/nurprintrequest/NurPrintsStart.cfm or get one from a law enforcement agency(such as your local police station) Be sure to ask for form FD 258
- Attach a 2×2 passport sized signed and dated photograph. (attach this on page two of the application form)
- As well as the above, you will need to fill out section one of the following forms: “Verification of Training for Alaska Nurse Aide Registry” and “Verification of Credentials for Alaska Nurse Aide Registry form”. To get a copy of these forms you will need to contact the nurse aide registry:
Licensing Examiner – Nurse Aide Registry
550 W. 7th Avenue., Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3567
If you’re having any sort of problem getting your license transferred, use the comment form below to get in touch with me and I’ll do my best to help you out.
Nursing Assistant Certification Renewal in Alaska
Your nursing assistant certification will need to be renewed every two years in Alaska. Nursing assistants must finish 12 hours of continuing education credits during their first two years. Twelve hours of continuing education are required each year in the years of employment thereafter.
It is necessary to work for pay as a nursing assistant each year if you want to be eligible to renew your license. In Alaska, you will need to work for at last 160 hours during every two years. It might be necessary to repeat training or testing if you do not meet these requirements.
To renew your license, you can get the forms at http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/Portals/5/pub/nua4227.pdf Please note that there are two forms for renewal. You will need to choose the correct one based on your license number.