You can become a nursing assistant who is eligible to work as a certified nursing assistant in one of two main ways in the state of Nevada. Prospective nursing assistants need to attend a training program that has been approved by the states. There are various nursing assistant certification training courses in Nevada. After completing a course, you will need to pass all aspects of the nursing assistant competency exam.
Training Hours and Requirements
You will need to enroll in and pass a training course that has been approved by the state of Nevada if you wish to work as a certified nursing assistant. The course will need to have at least 75 hours of training. You will need to complete at least 60 hours of training time in the classroom and labs. The rest of the hours will be spent in a clinical setting. You will find that some training programs offer even more hours of study.
Your nursing assistant training classes will teach you the skills you need to complete your nursing assistant tasks. The training will also prepare you to communicate well with patients, their families and your own co-workers. After you complete the entire course, you will need to sit for the nursing assistant competency exam.
CNA Certification Renewal in Nevada
Every twenty-four months, you will receive forms to renew your certification in the state of Nevada. The forms will provide instructions on how to renew your certification. All sections of the form must be completed accurately before you return them to have your certification renewed. You must have worked for compensation as a nursing assistant for a minimum of 40 hours during the 24-month certification period if you want to renew your certification. It is also necessary to have completed at least 24 hours of continuing education credits in that time period.
You are now able to renew your certified nursing certification online at: http://nevadanursingboard.org/licensure-and-certification/online-renewal/.
You cannot renew your license if you have been convicted of a felony during that time period. The same is true if you were found guilty of abusing a patient or misusing their funds or personal property.
CNA Certification Transfer to Nevada via Reciprocity
The other primary way to become a certified nursing assistant is through reciprocity. This is a process in which you ask the state of Nevada to review your credentials as a certified nursing assistant from another state. If those credentials match the standards for nursing assistant in the state of Nevada, your nursing assistant certification from the other state will be recognized in Nevada.
Contact the Nevada State Board of Nursing or visit their website at: http://nevadanursingboard.org/licensure-and-certification/how-to-apply-for-certification/ to obtain the forms needed to apply for reciprocity. You will need to complete the forms in their entirety before your application will be considered. If you are approved for reciprocity, you will not need to complete training or testing in Nevada.
Steps for Transfer:
- Download an application for endorsement along with instructions at:http://www.nursingboard.state.nv.us/certif/CNA%20application%20packet.pdf
- You will need to be fingerprinted as part of the application process. You must have your fingerprints done at a Nevada LiveScan location (recommended) or submit two fingerprint cards along with the completed Fingerprint Submission form.
- Completed section 1-4 and signed the Application for Initial CNA Certification form.
- Copy of your active certificate in your former state. It must show an expiration date.
- A copy of your certificate of successful completion of a state approved training program or your transcript showing successful completion of “Nursing Fundamentals.”
- Examination results
- You must show that you were employed for a minimum of 8 hours by a licensed medical facility during the past 2 years. Acceptable proof includes a Paycheck stub, W-2 form or a letter from your employer on company letterhead with a signature and title of the person writing for the employer.
- Don’t forget to include a non-refundable $50 application fee.
- Return form along with all requested documents to Nevada State Board of Nursing-5011 Meadowood Mall Way Suite 300- Reno, NV 89502-6547.
- You must complete the Endorsement Form for Certified Nursing Assistant form for each state you have received certification.
- Contact the nursing aide registry where you are certified. See the list of phone numbers provided with the application. Inquire about their specific requirements before you send the form.
- Forward your application to transfer your certification to the state where you are currently registered as a nursing assistant.
- The nursing aide registry in your state will complete the bottom section of your application. They will send the form to the address provided on the application for the state of Nevada.