Congratulations if you have decided to start on the path to become a certified nursing assistant in the state of Louisiana. You will need to attend a nursing assistant training program and to pass the subsequent competency exam if you want to become a nursing assistant.
Training Requirements and Hours
All certified nursing assistant training programs in Louisiana must meet the standards set forth by the Department of Health and Hospitals. The Department approves various nursing assistant training courses throughout the state. You will not be eligible for certification if you attend a class that has not been approved by the state.
Nursing assistant training programs must be at least 75 hours in Louisiana. This is actually the minimum amount of hours required by the federal government. You will find that some training courses in the state offer even more hours of instruction. Search for a program with a good reputation and the flexibility to meet your needs.
A training course must include classroom instruction as well as hands on practical experience. You will have the opportunity to work directly with patients before graduating from your nursing assistant training course.
Nursing Assistant Renewal in Louisiana
You will need to renew your nursing assistant certification every two years. The renewal form will be mailed to you 2-3 months prior to the date your certification is due to expire. You will need to carefully review the instructions on the renewal form and complete all sections requested.
In order to renew your certification, you must have worked as a nursing assistant or provided nursing-related services a minimum of 8 hours within the 24 month certification period. The 8 hours of work should be in an approved setting such as a nursing home, hospital, home health agency, personal care attendant agency, assisted living program, respite agency, hospice agency, adult day health care program, supervised independent living agency and intermediate care facility for the developmentally disabled.
If you have not been employed as a nursing assistant within the past two years, you will not be able to automatically renew your certification. This is why it is important to continue working a few hours each year.
Certification by Reciprocity in Louisiana
It is often possible to transfer your nursing assistant certification from another state to Louisiana as long as it is still valid. You will need to be listed as a nursing assistant in good standing on the Nursing Aide Registry in your former state. You can receive an application for reciprocity by contacting the Department of Health and Hospitals in Louisiana or visit their website at: http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/directory/detail/7440. Your application will be evaluated to ensure that you have met all standards necessary to work as a certified nursing assistant in Louisiana. If you are approved, you will not need to complete training in the state.
1) Download the form available at http://labenfa.trisine.com/ReciprocityandStateListings.pdf and fill out the first section. Make sure you fill it out accurately to ensure you get your transfer done quickly.
2) Send the form to your CURRENT CNA registry (I.E the state where your certification is currently valid). See Listing of State Registries page attached to the Reciprocity form. Your current state registry will complete the second part of the form and send it back to Louisiana for processing.
3) Make sure and attach a copy of your social security card, driver’s license and current state CNA certification. Make sure that the certification number assigned to you in the state you are transferring from is included.
Q: I became a CNA for the first time in 2001 when I completed the state certification exam in Louisiana. After working for 4 years and keeping my license active, I gave up my job and joined another company as an admin assistant. The current economy has resulted in my job being redundant. I want to become a CNA but I can not afford to take the CNA classes again. Is there a way to get my CNA license renewed without retaking the training?
A: Based on your question, it seems your license has been expired for over 5 years. If that is the case, the only way to renew it is to take the training again. If you can’t afford it, check out our article on how to get free CNA classes in Louisiana as well as Accredited CNA classes in Louisiana