If you are a compassionate and hard-working individual who is looking for a career in the healthcare industry that does not involve much time or expense for training, you should consider training to become a certified nursing assistant. Certified nursing assistants in New Jersey must receive approved training and pass the certification exam before working as a nursing assistant.
You will need to complete a Nurse Aide in Long Term Care Facilities Training and Competency Evaluation Program if you want to work at a long-term care facility in New Jersey. These training programs require at least 50 hours of classroom and lab training and 40 hours of practical clinical training. This is a total of 90 hours of training for prospective nursing assistants.
You will need to attend a Personal Care Assistants training program that has been approved by the Department of Health and Senior Services in New Jersey if you want to work in an assistant living facility. These courses offer 69 hours of learning in the classroom and another 16 hours spent gaining hands on experience working with patients.
You will need to sit for and pass the exam for nursing assistant certification if you want to work as a CNA in New Jersey. You will qualify to sit for this exam after completing a training program that has been approved by the state of New Jersey.
Transferring CNA Certification to New Jersey
If you have moved to New Jersey and hold an active nursing assistant certification, you can apply to transfer the certification to New Jersey. You must have completed a training program and competency evaluation equivalent to what is required in New Jersey. You will also need to complete a criminal background investigation application and have fingerprints taken through LiveScan. Information can be found on the State of New Jersey Department of Health website at: http://www.state.nj.us/health/healthfacilities/nadetail.shtml. You will need to obtain an application for reciprocity by contacting PSI at 1-877-774-4243. Your application will be reviewed to determine whether or not the certification you hold from another states meets the standards set for nursing assistants in New Jersey.
Steps For Transfer:
- Make certain that your certification is still active and in good standing in your former state. You cannot have been convicted of any crimes and must have no documented findings of neglect, abuse or misappropriation of a patient’s property. The CNA registry in your former state can endorse/verify your certification. You will need to contact them to find out the exact process and if there is any fees involved.
- Contact PSI at 1-877-774-4243 for an application and complete instructions for applying for reciprocity in the state of New Jersey.
- Ask PSI if there is a fee that you need to include with your application.
- Read all instructions on the form and contact PSI if you have any additional questions.
- Complete the Form for Endorsement in its entirety.
- Fill out a Criminal Background Investigation Form and then go to one of the approved law enforcement offices to have your fingerprinting done. You will be provided with an address to mail your criminal background check form.
- Make certain to answer all questions and to include any required documents and fees.
- Submit the application packet to the address provided on the Application Form.
CNA Certification Renewal in New Jersey
In order to work as a nursing assistant in the state of New Jersey, you will be required to renew your certification every 2 years. You will receive your renewal notice about 45 days prior to the expiration date of your certification.
You will be able to renew your license as long as you have a current certification, are in good standing with the state’s registry, have not been convicted of any crimes and do not have any outstanding patient complaints. During the two year certification period, you will need to have worked as a nursing assistant or provided nursing related services for compensation for a minimum of 7 hours in a licensed health care facility or for an agency licensed by the Department. You are also required to complete a criminal history check, which includes fingerprinting, prior to your certification expiration date.
You can contact PSI customer Care at 1-877-774-4243 for additional information and any questions you may have regarding the renewal process.
Helpful links: Free nurse aide training in New jersey and Accredited CNA classes in New Jersey
There is a course being offered that I would like to take — the prerequisite states “This course is open to all uncertified, newly employed ancillary nursing personnel in long-term care facilities.” Does that mean I need to be hired BEFORE I obtain my certification? That doesn’t make much sense.
Sarah, Can you send me the name of the center offering it so i can check it out for you.
i am in the second year of nursing school working toward my BSN. at this point i am looking for a job preferably in healthcare. considering that i already completed 2 years of nursing school would that satisfy the education requirements needed in order to take the exam?
I am eligible to take the NJ written exam as I am a BSN student who completed Fundamentals of Nursing course this past fall, but I am looking for help as to where to submit my proof of course completion as well as where to register for the exam